Search
  • manager98774

Book Babble Review: The Initial Insult by Mindy McGinnis


This book was an entirely unexpected for me and I enjoyed it so much that I started and finished it on a Sunday afternoon. I have recently started reading this author and love her writing style, she has quickly become an auto-buy author for me now. ​. All of her books have such a strong presence and plot that it makes the book fly by and you don’t want it to end but you have to know what happens. This book was no different than some of her other ones that I enjoyed. This story centers around two friends and what caused their fall-out years prior. Told in alternating perspectives and flashbacks you try to unfold the story right along with the characters. They also throw in the perspective of “the cat” in poetry form which added an interesting perspective.

Book Synopsis: ​In the first book of a suspenseful YA duology, award-winning author Mindy McGinnis draws inspiration from Edgar Allan Poe and masterfully delivers a dark, propulsive mystery in alternating points of view that unravels a friendship . . . forevermore. Perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying and Truly Devious! Tress Montor's family used to mean something--until she didn't have a family anymore. When her parents disappeared seven years ago while driving her best friend home, Tress lost everything. The entire town shuns her now that she lives with her drunken, one-eyed grandfather at what locals refer to as the "White Trash Zoo." Felicity Turnado has it all: looks, money, and a secret. One misstep could send her tumbling from the top of the social ladder, and she's worked hard to make everyone forget that she was with the Montors the night they disappeared. Felicity has buried what she knows so deeply that she can't even remember what it is . . . only that she can't look at Tress without feeling shame and guilt. But Tress has a plan. A Halloween costume party at an abandoned house provides the ideal situation for Tress to pry the truth from Felicity--brick by brick--as she slowly seals her former best friend into a coal chute. Tress will have her answers--or settle for revenge.

What I enjoyed most was that I understood both characters and where they were coming from. Tress just wanted to know what happened to her parents and Felicity was only person that was there when they disappeared. Her technique of getting the information was flawed and dangerous but she had become dark from her trauma and losing her last connection to her past was her last straw. Felicity on the other hand was blocking out that trauma. If she didn’t think about it, it couldn’t have happened to her and her perfect life. As you dive into both characters, as the story progresses, you begin to understand them both more. The side characters add to the story as well and add depth and understanding to both characters even though we don’t get very deep connections to any of them you are able to “know” each of them. The only issue I had with this story was the ending. That cliffhanger though! It wasn’t really an issue with the story but more of a testament to how good the story was. I seriously cannot wait for the 2nd book in this duology to come out. While it is still probably about a year out I am already ready for it. So if you are looking for a total page-turner with nods to Edgar Allan Poe this book will be right up your alley.

Happy Reading!



*** I did receive this book as an Arc from NetGalley. The opinions expressed are entirely my own.***


2 views0 comments